11 CMs under terror threat: Govt report

New Delhi, Apr 7 : Amid intelligence inputs suggesting threat to 11 chief ministers of different states from terrorists and Naxals, the Centre has sent an advisory to the police chiefs to review their security.

The ten chief ministers include Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee (West Bengal), Mayawati (Uttar Pradesh), Naveen Patnaik (Orissa), Ashok Chavan (Maharashtra), Narendra Singh Modi (Gujarat) and Omar Abdullah (Jammu and Kashmir), official sources said.

Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, Manipur's Okram Ibobi Singh and K Karnunanidhi, chief minister of Tamil Nadu are also in the list.

The advisory has asked DGPs to ensure security for the chief ministers of their respective state.

State police chiefs have been asked to conduct an 'Advance Security Liaising' (ASL) meeting with officers from State Intelligence Bureau and CID in coordination with local police for the security of the concerned VVIP.

According to the advisory, these chief ministers barring Omar Abdullah, will be given extra security in their states only. The Jammu and Kashmir chief minister will get an enhanced security cover in rest of the country as well, they said.

The government has instructed police chiefs of all the Northeastern states to increase security for the Manipur chief minister.